White bean & spinach pasta with a lemon caper sauce

YUUUUMMMMY!!!!  I couldn’t quite figure out how else to start this post after eating a bowl of this pasta.

IMG_4748Today was one of those days where we had unbelievable weather again.  I have to keep reminding myself that it is early March and that 55F weather is not normal when you live in the foothills of the Alps.  Eva and I spend most of our day outside, enjoying the sun and getting our dose of Vitamin D.  Where’s the snow?  Ahhh, who cares.

Definitely one of those days where I thought only quickly about dinner when I woke up and then decided that I would just throw something together later after I put the babe to bed.  But guess what…that throw together dinner just so happened to be amazing!

I have to admit that I am a food hoarder so I usually have a good stock of essentials in my kitchen at all times.  A well stocked pantry is one of the reasons I love cooking at my mother-in-law’s house.  Not saying your are a food hoarder Sandra, it’s just my slang term for “keepin’ yo kitchen stocked!”

IMG_4750So as I am browsing through my pantry & fridge…I see capers, white wine, lemons, butter, spinach, & cherry tomatoes…and I always have pasta, quality EVOO, and shallots/onions.  Magic just kind of happened before my eyes…and so did that nice glass of chardonnay 🙂  I can’t open a bottle of wine ONLY for cooking.

The best part about this meal is that it is quick and easy and you can double the recipe to have lunch leftovers for the next day.  I’m all about killing two birds with one stone!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 shallots or 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, pressed
  • 2 TBSP extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)
  • 1 TBSP butter (just cut of a chunk that fits into the tablespoon)
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  • 2 tsp capers (add more or less if you like)
  • 2 cups of uncooked pasta
  • 1/2 cup of white beans (rinsed and drained)
  • 10 cherry tomatoes (cut in half)
  • 1 large handful of fresh spinach
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Chili flakes (optional)
  • 2 TBSP fresh basil

IMG_4752IMG_4753

METHOD:

  • Boil water and cook the pasta according to instructions while you are making the sauce.
  • Heat EVOO and butter in a large pan.  Add shallots/onions and garlic and continually stir for about IMG_47553-4 minutes or until garlic is fragrant.  Do not let garlic burn because it will turn bitter.
  • Add the broth and continue stirring for about 1 minute.
  • Add wine, lemon juice, capers and continue to stir for another minute or two.
  • Add white beans & tomatoes.
  • Add cooked pasta and handful of spinach. Give the mixture a good stir and place a lid over the pan to wilt the spinach.
  • Season with salt/pepper and chili flakes.
  • Add fresh basil when serving.

I have no doubt that you are going to LOVE this pasta.  I didn’t even leave any for my husband to taste!

tanya2

Leave a Reply

