Roasted Red Pepper & Coconut Soup

I honestly can’t believe sometimes how cheap red peppers are here in Austria (I got 3 for 1 euro) and if you know me, you know I loooove a good deal!  Speaking of good deals, I saw some lovely bags of spinach at the grocery store….ideas, ideas.

It doesn’t really take much to get my mind racing about what I am going to make for my next meal.  My husband prefers not to go to the grocery store with me because I walk up and down every single aisle browsing around…just to see if there is anything new on the shelves and to spark some ideas 🙂

4

Back to the red peppers.  They were beautiful, which reminded me of my Grandma Lee’s Roasted Red Pepper  Soup from her famous cookbook that I was given before I married Patrick (what an awesome tradition!)

This soup is one of my favorite recipes to make because it is quick and it’s loaded with Vitamin C and antioxidants.  The flavor that comes out of the roasted red peppers is enough to make me do a dance and not feel bad about having a 3rd helping…no joke!

This recipe was adapted from Grandma Lee’s cookbook, and I am sure that she would approve.

INGREDIENTS

  • 6 large red peppers
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2 large carrots
  • 1 medium sized onion
  • 3 Tbsp. olive oil or coconut oil
  • 1.5 cup of vegetable or chicken stock
  • 1 can coconut milk (regular or low-fat will work)

METHOD

  1. Preheat the oven to 450F.  Line a cookie sheet or baking tray with parchment paper and place all six peppers on the tray.  Bake for about 35-40 minutes or until the pepper skin is blistered and charred.  Rotate the peppers a few times to ensure they are roasted on all sides.  The end result3 should look similar to the picture above.  Hint:  Roast the peppers before doing anything else because they take about 25 minutes to cool down.
  2. Once peppers are cooled, removed stems, seeds, and outer skin.
  3. In the meantime, dice up your onion, garlic, and cut your carrots into medium size pieces.
  4. In a medium pot, heat the oil on medium heat and then add your onions and garlic.  Cook for about 3-4 minutes or until onions are translucent and garlic is fragrant.
  5. Add stock and carrots and let the carrots simmer in the broth.
  6. Once carrots are tender,add the red peppers and blend together into a smooth consistency with a enough to blend with a blender/food processor/hand blender
  7. Lastly, add the coconut milk and mix thoroughly.1

tanya2

Leave a Reply

